Phone scams are, unfortunately, not an uncommon.

I remember, growing up, my dad would get a phone call (supposedly) from such & such company… The caller would say there was a problem and would ask for his account info, etc. My father would say something about being busy and needing to call them back. I noticed that when he “called back”, it was NEVER to the number given. He would look up the number in the phone book & call that one.

Recently, Tucson Police wrote a note “Be Aware of Phone Scams

What my dad taught me holds true in these cases (where you get a call from (supposed) police about an past/over due ticket). NEVER NEVER EVER give personal info over the phone to a call you yourself have not initiated. Call back to a verified number and check into validity of claim.

