This is a reblog of an old post I wrote last year on my personal site ~ The Wife

 

Today I came across something I had not known before. Actually, that’s not too surprising. Seems like there’s always something new to learn something not previously heard of or known.

This morning I was glancing at the “table of contents” of The Complete Artscroll Siddur and came across this:
20130917-115236.jpg
“Verses for people’s name”

Flipping to the page in question, I read that it is Jewish tradition to read a verse from scripture That either symbolizes a person’s name or one that begins with the first letter and ends with the last letter of a person’s name before reading the Shemoni Esrei or Amidah (also called “The Standing Prayer”).

Intrigued, I decided to use the latter method and read further….

My Hebrew name is חנה and I came up with this:
20130917-115849.jpg*footnote 32: Proverbs 31:17

Not knowing my Bible, I decided to get same said and look up proverbs 31:17….

Here’s what it said:
“She girds herself with strength, And strengthens her arms”

All I can say is WOW!!!

I often feel like everything that needs to get done is somehow put on my plate. Like I’m not getting any help and am always being called upon for help with something. Sometimes I just want to disappear for a while and say “you guys figure out how to get by with out me around”. I’m overwhelmed and emotionally/mentally exhausted. I want to crawl into a cave or hole somewhere and cry “Uncle”….. And yet physically (even emotionally and mentally) I manage to keep going. Guess that scripture verse explains it. Pretty profound (when you stop and think about it) that that would be my verse.

Okay, I know I’m not alone in this feeling, I’m sure many of you out there have that same feeling….. It is difficult and even stressful sometimes when you have a disabled husband who constantly need your help to get things done.

