I like to keep peppermint oil on hand around here.  We use it quite a bit especially for my husband.  We’ve used it on his back and legs for muscle pain and on his stomach to help w/ stomach upset from constipation or diarrhea like problems.

One of the underlying problems my husband has (as part of the spinal cord injury)  is a portion of his large intestine is basically dead {I’m not sure if it is actually dead or not but I do know that things don’t move through there as they are suppose to.  Because of this it is not uncommon for my husband to have problems with constipation…  Then once things get going (so to speak) he’ll end up sitting on the toilet for awhile waiting till his body decides it’s done…  Sometimes he’ll get  up (well get back in his wheelchair) thinking he’s done, only to have to head right back or the “pot” again.  During these “episodes” his stomach can start cramping up, which (as he describes) is quite painful.  And I can imagine it would be.  I know how painful stomach cramps can get just from monthly cramps.   Peppermint  is one of the main ingredients I use in the mixture to settle his stomach down.

The other frequent problem is sore legs from constantly quivering/spasming muscles and sore muscles in back from trying to hold self upright.  T-12, in my husband’s spine, is basically pie shaped (occurring due to the original injury that caused the SCI.   Again, peppermint is one of the main oils that we add to the mix.

I forgot to add that a drop or two peppermint is added to hubby’s water for tummy upset….  Another good one to have on hand for stomach related problems?  Tangerine oil (but I’ll save that for another blog post).

I also have used peppermint to help w/ coughing problems due to cough-variant asthma; As well as having used for stuffiness due to colds or allergies.

So what all is peppermint good for?  Here’s a list of things I came up with from a book I have on oils and their uses:

Respiratory Upsets:

  • Asthma
  • Bronchitis
  • Cough
  • Nasal Congestion
  • Cold & Flu

Stomach Upsets:

  • Constipation
  • Diarrhea
  • Digestive Disorders
  • Flatulence
  • Nausea
  • Travel Sickness

Head Ache & Muscle Pain relief:

  • Back Pain
  • Arthritis
  • Muscle Pain & Muscle Spasms
  • Head Aches & Migraines

Miscellaneous:

  • Sunburns
  • Fatigue
  • Circulatory: General Care (be careful as peppermint can cause increase pulse rate)
  • Bad Breath
  • Infection of the Gums
  • Vertigo

It’s also good for some emotional balancing as well:

  • Apathy
  • Shock
  • Mental Exhaustion

 

