I’ve been trying to “write” this blogpost for the past couple days – In fact I even mentioned it in my last post, thinking I might just be able to get right to it … HA!! That’s what I get for thinking. I actually made this soup a couple days ago and it turned out quite good.

It’s the end of the month and (as usual) there’s more month than money. Food stamps were gone and money is dwindling. We decided to see what we could make using what we got. Well one of the things we have is some potato flakes (not Idahoan brand or similar, but cheap style potato flakes)… “Why not make some Instant Potato Soup” we thought. It would use up some of the potato flakes and put some food in the house. We found a couple recipes for ideas, which we combined in to our own….

I wish I could say that I measured everything perfectly so I could write them down here but I sort of forgot… Forgot to take more pictures as well.

To start with I took a single breast of chicken (which will be used today to make chicken soup – the broth for that coming from Vege Scraps) and boiled it in water to get about 2 cups of broth.

In the broth I slowly melted 2 Tbsp of butter and 1 cup if Sour Cream (1/2 of a reg 16oz container). I also used approx 1/4 – 1/2 cup of milk (this is one of those areas where I didn’t actually measure) to rinse out the last of the sour cream from the container. And, I added about 1/2 cup (I think) of extra water – you could use milk here, but we were trying to not use up too much of our milk.

Ok, so while that’s all melting down, or you could do this ahead of time, I minced up 1/2 + cups of onion along with a good amount of Parsley & Celery Seed (again no measurements & didn’t even take a photo to show). { Note: celery seed can come out fast – I sort of stumped toe, but still turned out good. }

Once all that was nicely cooked/melted together, I added about a cup of the Potato Flakes (another cup had been set aside as I wasn’t sure exactly how much would be needed)
/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ea/29599543/files/2014/12/img_3765.jpg

…And to top it off, about 3/4 – 1 cup of shredded cheese.
/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ea/29599543/files/2014/12/img_3766.jpgI had actually already added about 1/2 of the cheese that had been in the bag (which turned out to be just under 1/2 cups) before taking this picture & deciding to go ahead and add it all in.

The only thing I have to say is that, besides stumping toe on celery seed, I didn’t quite get the soup hot enough so it was really kind of luke warm when we ate it shortly after.
/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/0ea/29599543/files/2014/12/img_3763.jpg

