The hubby came across this recipe at Mama Economics.  I’ve made a few minor adjustments but follow the basic recipe:

Ingredients
For one, I cut the recipe in half as a full recipe makes way more than what we need (even at that I get 2 days worth for me and my son – the hubby doesn’t care much for waffles).

3/8 cup White Whole-Wheat Flour
2/8 cup Rye Flour
1/8 cup Pastry Flour
{Note: You can use slighltly more of the White Whole-Wheat or Rye and less of the Pastry Flour}
1/2 cup Cooking Oats (make sure you’re not using instant or quick oats)
1/2 Tbsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Cinnamon (optional as I  use flavored creamer, as shown a little later)
1/8 – 1/4 tsp salt (In all honesty I don’t measure this but just shake in what looks/”feels” right)
Ground Flax Seed (I don’t measure this but rather just cover the top of the flour and oat mix with what looks right)
1 Egg
1/2 cup Whole, Vitamin D, Milk
1/4 cup Creamer (I prefer Indelight’s Cinnabon)
2-3 Tbsp Olive Oil
1-2 Tbsp Butter (real  butter, not spreads or “fake” butter).
Optional:  Blueberries, Raisins, Chocolate Chips, Coconut, etc

How to Make:
Mix your dry ingredients  into a medium size mixing bowl.

In a separate small bowl (or you can mix in a liquid measuring cup, which is what I do) Mix together your egg, milk & cream, olive oil, and butter.

Pour your wet ingredients on your dry ingredients and stir together.

Add optional ingredients as desired and stir again.

Cook on waffle iron.  I use about 1/2 cup for each individual waffle square (the waffle iron we have makes 2 squares at a time).

Top with your choice (butter, syrup, preserves, jam/jelly, etc).

Enjoy 🙂

